The Education Virtual Campus - About the institution

University of Southampton logo

University of Southampton

Overview of the institution

Overview of the institution
Accommodation & welfare
English language
Access & foundation
Degree & postgraduate
Tuition fees
Scholarships for international students
International alumni associations
Entry requirements & application procedure
Where to obtain further information

The University has its origins in the Hartley Institute which was founded in 1862. In 1902 it became a university college attached to the University of London. In 1952 the University received its Royal Charter. It has seven faculties:

  • Arts
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Mathematics
  • Medicine
  • Science
  • Social Sciences

The University offers undergraduate degrees and postgraduate degrees (Master's or PhD level).

The University has an international reputation for the quality of its teaching and research. It is particularly well known for engineering, chemistry, economics, maritime law, oceanography, sound and vibration and optoelectronics. There are currently 20,265 students on full- and part-time degree and diploma courses, 3,100 of whom are postgraduates. Over 1,750 full-time students are from overseas. They come from over a hundred different countries.

[ Top of page ]

Alumni information Research assessments Teaching assessments
Enquiries Search Feedback Home

Welfare | Institutions | Courses | British Education | About Britain
Finance | Information | International | English Language Centre

Produced in Britain by the British Council
The British Council and the University of Southampton 2001

The British Council, registered in England as a charity no. 209131, is the United Kingdom's
international network for education, culture and development services.