Minutes of the Cilip Cataloguing and Indexing Group 44th Annual General Meeting 28th September 2009 at CILIP HQ, London

- 1. **Present**: Andrew Coburn (Chair) and 12 members For full list see Appendix 1
- 2. **Apologies for absence**: Linda Gilbert, Giovanna Hendel, David Lass, Wendy Taylor, Mike Towsey, Nathalie Schulz, Katrina Sked.
- 3. **Minutes of 43rd Annual General Meeting**: The Chair introduced the previous minutes. Diane Tough proposed and Alan Danskin seconded that the meeting accept the minutes as a true record with all voting in favour.
- 4. Matters arising: There were none.
- 5. **Annual report for 2008**: Andrew Coburn introduced the annual report, which covers the calendar year of 2008, highlighting the following items.
 - The CIG activity plan focuses on opportunities to support continuing professional development, development of standards, publications and building a community of practitioners. This is reviewed annually and suggestions from members are welcome.
 - Visits to libraries: University College London; Lindley Library (RHS); the London Library; King's College London.
 - Events: The CIG conference was held at the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, incorporating the Standards Forum; this was very successful and well attended. Thanks are due to the UKOLN Events Team for their work at this event. The Standards Forum was re-run in Manchester. The committee would like to hear from members with any suggestions for either visits or events.
 - The Alan Jeffreys Award was presented to Gordon Dunsire at the CIG conference.
 - CIG members are representatives on the following bodies: BIC Bibliographic Standards Group; CILIIP/BL Committee on RDA; CILIP DCC Committee; SCOOP; Wheatley Medal.
 - Catalogue and Index: Issue 156 (available only in e-version) was published. Issues for the current year are available to CIG members only; previous years' issues are available to all. Members who cannot access the Web site may request a PDF to be emailed to them; please contact the publications officer, Andrew Watson.
 - CIG web site: Gustavo Grandal Montero continued as Web master and updated the site.
 - The CIG blog is openly accessed from the site; while only committee members can post entries, anyone may contribute comments on those entries. The frequency of entries has risen.
 - Stuart Hunt represented the Group at the CILIP Policy Forum.
 - CIG Scotland continued to run a busy programme of events and discussion.

Acceptance of the annual report was proposed by Robin Armstrong-Viner and seconded by Heather Jardine with all voting in favour.

- 6. **Treasurer's report**: Copies of the annual accounts were circulated at the meeting along with a written report from the Treasurer.
 - The accounts were prepared by Mike Towsey, Treasurer for 2008. Mike has since retired from the post, and the committee, having given around 20 years service to the Group.
 - The Independent examiners have signed off the accounts.
 - The separate account for 'Catalogue & Index' has been closed.
 - The Group continues to receive income from CILIP based on capitation.
 - Events run by CIG generated some income, especially the 2008 conference.
 - CIG Scotland has separate finances; the 2007 accounts show these still to be sound.
 - CIG is looking at ways of using its reserves in the near future to support activities for members. Legally the Group is part of CILIP and current reserves could be recalled by CILIP for its own purposes.

Acceptance of the accounts was proposed by Diane Tough and seconded by Alan Danskin with all voting in favour.

7. **Appointment of Independent Examiners**: Sue Brown and Eric Davies were nominated as Independent Examiners; this was proposed by Andrew Coburn and seconded by John Bowman. The meeting approved these appointments unanimously subject to their agreement and that of the Treasurer.

8. Any Other Business

- Forthcoming events: in addition to further library visits, planning is also under way for the next CIG conference, which will be held at the University of Exeter, 13th to 15th September 2010, again with the assistance of the UKOLN Events Team.
- All officer posts must be re-elected (they serve one year at a time) and the Chair cannot, under CILIP rules, serve a further term in that post. Additionally, there will also be some committee member vacancies for 2010. Members were encouraged to consider putting themselves forward for the committee. The nomination call will go out in the CILIP Gazette to be published in November.
- The Alan Jeffreys Award was presented to John Bowman by Andrew Coburn, in recognition of his significant contribution to teaching many cohorts of cataloguing and classification students and his publications on the subject.

Meeting closed

Appendix 1: List of attendees at AGM

Andrew Coburn (Chair) and Ann Chapman (Secretary) plus: Robin Armstrong Viner, Cynthia Bould, John Bowman, Alan Danskin, Fenella Gill, Anne Hughes, Heather Jardine, Diane Tough, Catherine Williams, Helen Williams, Alison Worthy.