CIG 2010 AGM Proposal 2.

New terms of reference proposed for the Alan Jeffreys Award.

Alan Jeffreys Award

The Alan Jeffreys Award is made by the Cataloguing & Indexing Group Committee in memory of Alan Jeffreys, the former Chairman of the Group, who died in 1994.

The recipient of the award should have made a substantive contribution to the development, teaching or practice of cataloguing or indexing.

Nominations for the award should be sent to the Honorary Secretary. Nominations should provide evidence of exceptional achievement in one or more of the following categories:

- Teaching or Professional Development
- Leadership in a changing environment
- Delivery of a project

Evidence should include assessment of the impact the nominee has had. This may include, but is not limited to, improved access to collections; academic performance or efficiencies.

Nominations will be evaluated by the CIG committee. Nominees are excluded from the evaluation process.

The award is made annually. The recipient receives a framed certificate and will also win a complimentary registration to the next CIG Conference (or a CPD event of their choice).

Old terms of reference

Alan Jeffreys Award (established 1996).

Terms of reference for the Alan Jeffrey's Award.

- 1. The Alan Jeffreys Award was established by the CIG in memory of its former Chairman, who died in 1994.
- 2. It is to be awarded to a person or persons who have made a significant contribution to Librarianship within the Group's field of interest (normally) during the previous year.
- 3. The CIG committee will select the recipient from nominations received. Nominees may not participate in the selection process.
- 4. The Award takes the form of a framed certificate and is made annually.

Previous recipients of the award are:

1996: Ross Trotter In recognition of his contribution to the 21st edition of the Dewey Decimal Classification Scheme.

1997: Keith Trickey For his energy in maintaining the standards of cataloguing skills

1998: Brian Holt In recognition of his work on UKMARC and MARC harmonisation.

1999: Stuart James For his contribution to the development of CIG's areas of interest, including setting up CIG Scotland.

2000: Ann Chapman For significant contribution to the understanding and development of statistical evidence within professional fields of interest.

2001: Maewyn Cumming For significant work in developing the e-Government Metadata Standard

2002: Pat Booth Whole-document indexing.

Gap: Review of future of award. No awards made 2003 to 2006

2007: Gordon Dunsire For work in developing international standards and promoting the value of cataloguers.

2008: John Bowman For his significant contribution to the teaching of cataloguing, both as a lecturer and as an author, and his contribution to the development of the Dewey Decimal Classification, AACR2 and RDA.

2009: No nominations received.